About Almaty

Almaty

The city of Almaty, which name can be translated as "the apple land" or "the father of apples". Throughout the XX century, Almaty was the capital of Kazakhstan. Here were all the administrative and cultural institutions of the country, but in 1997, the capital was moved to Astana. However, the city has not lost its status, and is now often called the Southern capital of the country.

For 150 years of the city's history, dozens of iconic monuments, architectural sights, museums, parks and much more have been erected here. Even today, guests of Almaty can learn first-hand about the history and culture of the city, which never stops to grow. Besides, there are various natural sites and the famous high-mountain skating rink Medeo near Almaty.

Chimbulak Ski Resort

The Chimbulak ski resort is located in the picturesque gorge of the Ile Alatau mountain at an altitude of 2260 m above sea level in 25 km from Almaty downtown. The average air temperature in summer is +20C and in winter is -7C. The average thickness of the snow cover is up to 150 cm, the number of sunny days per year is up to 90%. The snow cover lasts from November to May. The ski slopes are served by two pair-chair, single-chair and drag ropeway as well as free towing lift. Since 2003, the 4-seater road has entered service, which has opened a new region for fans of extreme skiing. The lifts take you from 2260 m above sea level to the Talgar Pass (3163 m) with the height difference of 903 m. Three snow-sealing machines (Ratrak) prepare the trails.

Big Almaty Lake

Big Almaty Lake was formed as a result of an earthquake. From all sides the lake is surrounded by mountains, among them the Soviets Peak of 4317 meters above sea level, the Ozerny Peak of 4110 meters above sea level and the Tourist Peak that is 3954 meters high. The shores of the lake are cliffy and steep. The water in the lake is quite cold even in summer. Depending on the season, the water acquires various shades from a dull yellow in summer to a turquoise-blue in autumn. The lake is very beautiful, especially in the morning, when the majestic mountains are reflected in the water. In winter, the lake freezes.

Добро пожаловать в город Алматы!

Город Алматы

Город Алматы, название которого можно перевести как «яблоневый» или «отец яблок», на протяжении всего XX века был столицей Казахстана. Здесь находились все административные и культурные учреждения страны, но в 1997 году столица была перенесена в Астану. Однако, город не утратил своего статуса, и теперь часто называется Южной столицей страны.

За 150 лет истории города, здесь были возведены десятки знаковых памятников, архитектурных достопримечательностей, музеев, парков и многое другое. И на сегодняшний день, гости Алматы могут познакомиться с историей и культурой города, который продолжает расти. К тому же, в окрестностях Алматы расположены различные природные достопримечательности и знаменитый высокогорный каток Медео.

Горнолыжный курорт Чимбулак

Горнолыжный курорт “Чимбулак” расположен в живописном ущелье Заилийского Алатау на высоте 2260 м над уровнем моря в 25 км от центра города Алматы. Средняя температура воздуха летом +20С, зимой -7С. Средняя толщина снежного покрова до 150 см, количество солнечных дней в году до 90%. Время залегания снежного покрова с ноября по май. Горнолыжные трассы обслуживаются двумя парно-кресельными, одно- кресельной и бугельной канатной дорогами, а также бесплатный буксировочный подъемник. С 2003 года вошла в эксплуатацию 4-местная дорога, открывшая новый регион для любителей экстремального катания. Подъемники поднимут Вас с высоты 2260 м, над уровнем моря до Талгарского перевала (3163 м), перепад высоты 903 м. Трассы готовятся тремя снегоуплотнительными машинами (Ратрак).

Большое Алматинское озеро

Большое Алматинское озеро образовалось в результате землетрясения. Со всех сторон озеро окружают горы, среди них пик Советов 4317 метров над уровнем моря, пик Озерный с высотой в 4110 метров над уровнем моря и пик Турист высота которого 3954 метра. Берега озера обрывисты и круты. Вода в озере довольно таки холодная даже в летнее время года. В зависимости от времени года вода приобретает различные оттенки от мутно-желтого летом до бирюзово-голубого осенью. Озеро очень красиво, особенно утром, когда в воде находят свое отражение величественные горы. Зимой озеро замерзает.